Vegan Update #1.

For almost two months I’ve been eating vegan and I thought let’s post an update about my journey to veganism and how it is going. 

I can’t remember exactly when I became a vegetarian, because I became one and then quit after some time and then became one again. But I’ve been a vegetarian for the past 4 years definitely.

I became a vegetarian because I couldn’t deal with eating animals anymore. I’ve always been an animal lover and the idea to eat those cute animals wasn’t it anymore.

A few years ago, I tried becoming a vegan. I had a vegan friend, read lots of stuff about it and thought: this is what I’m going to do. However, I didn’t do it “right”. Mostly, I left out non-vegan things and didn’t search for delicious replacements. So, food didn’t make me happy anymore. I wasn’t enjoying the food I ate and I just couldn’t continue. So, I switched back to being a vegetarian. And I was just that for a long time.

Then in June, I decided I couldn’t do this anymore. I wanted to take vegetarianism to a new level: I really wanted to become vegan. Mostly because of some documentaries on Netflix and my own brain who said to me that I should stop being so stupid.

Now, after more than a month eating vegan I can tell you that I love it. I feel more connected to the Earth, to animals, my body feels better and I enjoy cooking even more. I have always loved cooking, but now that I’m not cooking with animal products, I truly enjoy it more. I don’t think transitioning to vegan from vegetarian is difficult. For me, it wasn’t difficult. I do have the big advantage that my mother became vegan with me. At the moment, I still live at home, so we do groceries together and cook together and because we’re both vegan, these things run smoothly.

The major difference in the vegan life is for us: reading ingredient lables. Grocery shopping takes a little longer, but not even that much. We read the lables on bread, on chips, on vegetarian burgers, just everything, just to make sure. But I also find it fun to do and it makes you conscious of what you are actually going to put in your mouth.

All in all, living the vegan life is great. I love it. And I never want to go back.

 

Leave a Reply

